Input Needed: MP40 and Thompson SMG

Sammieiii

Hey everyone - let me preface by saying that I'm a newb so if this has been asked or these are dumb questions, please bear with me.  I am not asking "which would you get" or "which is a better gun"

I have been looking at an MP40 and a Thompson SMG.  I'm familiar with the ergonomics, weight, etc, with each gun but my question is: from an investment standpoint, does the MP40 or Thompson appreciate faster, or at least hold its value better?  Or are they pretty equivalent?

I sincerely appreciate everyones help and I'm honored to be a part of this forum.

Regards,

Sam

Mp40 tube gun or c&r? Amnesty registered with capture papers? Dragged behind a truck on a gravel road or cherry?

Which Thompson model? Let's just start there. Who made it? Condition? History?

No offense but your question is kind of like "Ford or Chevy?" Gt40 versus ?? Too many variables. 

• Like 1

With respect, I’d buy the gun you want, investment be dammed. 

Inevitably the recent SCOTUS case may lead to a serious challenge against Hughes, under the “Text, History, and Tradition” standard. 

(I may throw my hat into the ring if a major org like FPC/GOA want’s to take a Pro bono suit, with me trying to form 1 a new sten tube, while currently having a transferable sten, and seeing the government contort in defending that one is ok but the other made after said date isn’t).

That’s my view at least.

-Mathew

• Like 1

Thank you guys for the responses.

the two guns in looking at are for sale on the forum - the first is the MP-40 w/ Wilson tubes in “Nice condition” and the second is the W.H. Thompson 1928 Mint with case and A.O. Drum.

I’ve always had an itch for both guns because of their history and the Thompson has always stood out to me but the MP40 is also such a great gun.